Braishfield Horticultural Society

The Village Gardening Club



Tips of
the week:

Put a handful of nitrate fertilizer (Sodium or Potassium nitrate, not Ammonium compounds) on the compost heap to speed up decay.
Remember to pinch out side shoots on tomatoes to get bigger fruits for exhibition.
Mushrooms can be grown outdoors in a unused piece of grassland.
  • PROGRAMME 2019

  • Tuesday 8 January
    PLANTS AND PEOPLE OF INDIA'S NORTH WEST FRONTIER
    Tom Clarke Head Gardener, Exbury Gardens

  • Tuesday 12 February
    WHAT DO I DO WITH THIS SPACE? - Practical Gardening Tips
    Darren Lerigo Topiary Artist and Gardener

  • Tuesday 12th March
    WILDLIFE OF ESTONIA - A Message of Hope
    Andy Lester, Conservation Director, A Rocha UK

  • Tuesday 9 April
    PELARGONIUMS FOR EVERYONE
    Peter Chivers, Grower and RHS Judge
    Also the SPRING SHOW.

  • Tuesday 14 May
    MEMBERS' EVENING AND PLANT SWAP

    NOTE THAT THIS MEETING WILL BE IN THE CHURCH ROOMS

  • June
    GARDEN VISITS
    To be arranged

  • Saturday 13 July
    ANNUAL FLOWER SHOW

  • Tuesday 23 July
    CHAIRMAN'S GARDEN PARTY
    Members and friends only

  • Tuesday 10 September
    WALKING THE RIDGE, Exploring the Drakensberg Mountains
    Fran Clifton Head Gardener, Sir Harold Hillier Gardens

  • Tuesday 8 October
    GIBRALTAR BOTANIC GARDENS
    Aron Clay Sr. Horticuturalist, Sir Harold Hillier Gardens
    Also the APPLE COMPETITION.

  • Tuesday 12 November
    ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING


One of the gardens we visited in 2018

Do you know this unusual plant?


Link with the Michelmersh and Timsbury Horticultural Society

The Braishfield Horticultural Society has an arrangement with the Michelmersh and Timsbury Horticultural Society so that members can attend each other's talks and visits. The Michelmersh and Timsbury Society programme can be viewed here. Please be prepared to show your membership card at the door.